August 14 – 19, 2017

Drawing in Space

Mona Jas

Draw is about combining different elements and layers: lines, dots, dashes, and shading on surfaces can convey thoughts, emotions, and concepts, record observations, conceive processes, and document experiences. Drawing blends high abstraction with direct physicality.

The aim of this course will be to test out these possibilities ourselves and to engage in critical reflection using specific examples. We will develop a narrative together based on the people and architecture from the context of the surrounding neighborhood (temporary housing, the landmark, the trade union, schools, apartments). We will then use the medium of drawing to translate and visualize this narrative and present the results in a space inside the Bauhaus monument. The drawings will be created as a joint work using digital pens, plotted and installed as a temporary installation in this space.
The course is planned as follows: In the first phase we will familiarize ourselves with the practice and theory of drawing. This will be followed by a research phase, in which we will conduct field research in the surrounding environment. In the third phase, we will develop graphic elements. In the fourth phase, we will work together to develop the installation, which we will realize on site in the fifth phase.

It is assumed that students are interested in and have experience with drawing.

Drawing in Space – August 14 – 19, 2017

Price plus Shipping

Booking:
Sum: 590,00 EUR

The 160.00 EUR enrollment fee is due with the registration. Restpayment until July 15, 2017. The total amount includes german VAT if you book accommodations.

Your grant will be subdived in the next step.

In transdisciplinary, long-term projects, artist Mona Jas examines artistic dialogues in various social fields and constellations. The focus is on contemporary art, visual culture, social inclusion, and artistic research combined with the question of shaping and changing society. Perception through drawing, language, and movement form the basis of her work, which is presented in the form of installations, publications, and workshops. Mona, received her Masters in Art from UdK Berlin and was the recipient of a postgraduate fellowship from the Berlin Senate; later she was awarded travel grants to Istanbul as well as a DAAD grant for Montréal / New York, and the Berlin Senate’s work grant. She received the first grant for art mediation awarded by nGbK. Her works have been presented in Utopics, the 11th Swiss Sculpture Exhibition in Biel / Bienne, Gleisdreieck art in public space in Berlin, Museion, Bolzano, in cooperation with ES contemporary art gallery, Süddeutsche Kunstverein, the exhibition Europa U Bahn 55 Bundestag, and Brandenburger Kunstverein. She is an honorary professor at Kunsthochschule Weissensee Berlin, a member of the education faculty at documenta 14, and, as an artist, is the director of art mediation for the 10th Berlin Biennial.

14.–19. August 2017

Zeichnung im Raum

Mona Jas

Zu zeichnen bedeutet, verschiedene Elemente und Ebenen miteinander zu verbinden: Mit Linien, Punkten, Strichen und Schraffuren auf Flächen können Gedanken, Gefühle und Konzepte übersetzt werden, Beobachtungen notiert, Abläufe konzipiert und Erlebnisse dokumentiert werden. Die Zeichnung verbindet hohe Abstraktion mit unmittelbarer Körperlichkeit.

In dem Kurs wird es darum gehen, diese Möglichkeiten selbst zu erproben und mit Beispielen zu reflektieren. Gemeinsam werden wir eine Erzählung im Kontext der Menschen und Architekturen der Nachbarschaft (Notunterkünfte, Denkmal, Gewerkschaft, Schulen, Wohnungen) entwickeln, die wir mit zeichnerischen Mitteln in einem Raum im Bauhaus Denkmal übersetzen und sichtbar machen werden. Die Zeichnungen werden als gemeinsames Werk mit digitalen Stiften ausgearbeitet, ausgeplottet und als temporäre Installation in diesem Raum angebracht.

Und so ist der Ablauf geplant: In der ersten Phase arbeiten wir uns in die Praxis und die Theorie der Zeichnung ein. Darauf folgt eine Recherchephase, in der wir Feldforschung in der näheren Umgebung durchführen. In der dritten Phase entwickeln wir zeichnerische Elemente. In der vierten Phase konzipieren wir daraus gemeinsam die Rauminstallation, die wir in der fünften Phase vor Ort umsetzen.

Interesse an und Erfahrung mit Zeichnung setze ich voraus.

Zeichnung im Raum – 14.8.-19.8. 2017

Preise zzgl. Versandkosten

Buchung:
Summe: 590,00 EUR

Die Einschreibegebühr in Höhe von 160,00 EUR wird mit dem Bestellvorgang fällig. Begleichung des Restbetrags bis zum 15. Juli 2017. Bei Buchung einer Unterkunft enthält die Gesamtsumme MwSt.

Ihr Stipendium wird im nächsten Bestellschritt verrechnet.

Die Künstlerin Mona Jas untersucht in transdisziplinären Langzeitprojekten künstlerische Dialoge in verschiedenen gesellschaftlichen Feldern und Konstellationen. Dabei geht es um zeitgenössische Kunst, visuelle Kultur, soziale Inklusion und künstlerische Forschung verbunden mit der Frage nach Gestaltung und Veränderung von Gesellschaft. Wahrnehmung durch Zeichnung, Sprache und Bewegung sind ihre Arbeitsgrundlagen. Die Ergebnisse werden in Installationen, Publikationen und Workshops präsentiert. Mona Jas ist Meisterschülerin der UdK Berlin und hatte ein Postgraduiertenstipendium des Berliner Senats. Es folgten u. a. Reisestipendien für Istanbul und mit dem DAAD für Montréal/New York sowie ein Arbeitsstipendium des Berliner Senats. Sie erhielt das erste Stipendium für Kunstvermittlung der nGbK. Ihre Arbeiten waren u. a. zu sehen in UTOPICS, der 11. Schweizerischen Plastikausstellung in Biel/Bienne, in „Gleisdreieck Berlin 2012 – Kunst im öffentlichen Raum“, im Museion Bozen in Zusammenarbeit mit ES contamporary art gallery, im Süddeutschen Kunstverein, in der Ausstellung „Europa“ im Jahr 2016 im U-Bahnhof Bundestag Berlin, Linie 55 sowie im Brandenburger Kunstverein. Sie ist Honorarprofessorin der Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin, Mitglied der Faculty an education documenta 14 und leitet als Künstlerin die Mittlung der 10. Berlin Biennale.