August 21 – 26, 2017

Hannes Meyer: finishing unfinished business

Malte Roloff & Santiago da Silva

For our workshop at the Summer School Bernau, we will look at the legacy of Swiss architect, urbanist, socialist thinker, and former Bauhaus director Hannes Meyer. Meyer’s body of work as an architect consists largely of projects that, for one reason or the other, were never realized. His career was a polemic one, his vision of architecture and design charged with political motivations, often perceived by his colleagues and contemporaries as threatening and problematic. From the Bauhaus in Dessau to Moscow to Mexico City and back to Switzerland, Meyer’s life of migration somehow seems to always have put him in the wrong place at the wrong time. His years in Mexico are exemplary for this dilemma. Invited by the Mexican government to develop a school for architecture and city planning at the University of Mexico City, Meyer quickly fell prey to the complicated political situation in Mexico in the 1940s. This prevented him from building anything in Mexico or elsewhere in Latin America and the ideas he put forward in lectures and talks gained him more enemies than followers.

Nevertheless, once installed in Mexico, Meyer joined the TGP—Taller de Gráfica Popular—a printing workshop and artist’s collective, where he found profound sympathy for his ideals. He became the TGP’s director, edited a monograph and organized exhibitions. It seemed for once that Meyer found space to put his ideas into practice, something that was impossible for him to achieve through architecture.

During this workshop participants will work collaboratively on carrying out what once seemed impossible to achieve: realizing one of Hannes Meyers unrealized projects. We will critically analyze Meyer’s construction plans, architectural sketches, and theoretical notes, and then piece his ideas and convictions back together in different media and forms. Just like Hannes Meyer himself with the TGP, we will find alternative ways of shaping concepts into concrete forms. The goal here is to finish, no matter what!

Hannes Meyer: finishing unfinished business – August 21 – 26, 2017

Price plus Shipping

Booking:
Sum: 590,00 EUR

The 160.00 EUR enrollment fee is due with the registration. Restpayment until July 15, 2017. The total amount includes german VAT if you book accommodations.

Your grant will be subdived in the next step.

Malte Roloff lives and works as an exhibition maker, production manager, and writer in Berlin. His latest projects include the exhibitions Chinese Whispers and Julian Röder—Recht und Raum at Haus am Waldsee, Berlin (2016–17). He was production manager for Simon Denny—Secret Power, the New Zealand pavilion at the 56th Venice Biennial for contemporary art 2015, and Simon Denny—Products for Organizing at the Serpentine Gallery, London (2015–16). Malte Roloff teaches at the Burg Giebichenstein School for Art and Design in Halle/Saale, where he also curated the public art project A Question of Time—Statements for the Archive of the Undead (2014) and contributed to the Werkleitz Festival project Utopien vermeiden (2013). He writes exhibition reviews and articles for magazines and catalogues on contemporary art.

Santiago da Silva is a Mexican designer. He works mainly on developing books, publications, printed matter, and communication systems in collaboration with artistic, curatorial, or institutional positions. Between 2011 and 2015 he worked at Studio Manuel Raeder, developing projects in collaboration with artists like Mariana Castillo Deball, Danh Vo, Abraham Cruzvillegas, and Matt Mullican; and for cultural institutions like Kunstverein MĂĽnchen and Artists Space, New York.
Since 2015 Santiago da Silva runs his studio in Berlin.
www.santiagodasilva.com

Malte Roloff and Santiago da Silva are the editors of the website Object Notes, a research platform about craft and contemporary art: www.objectnotes.org.

21. – 26. August 2017

Hannes Meyer: finishing unfinished business

Malte Roloff & Santiago da Silva

Für unseren Workshop im Rahmen der Internationalen Sommerschule Bernau werden wir uns mit dem Vermächtnis des Schweizer Architekten, Urbanisten, sozialistischen Denkers und ehemaligen Bauhaus Direktors Hannes Meyer auseinandersetzen. Meyers Werk als Architekt besteht größtenteils aus Projekten, die aus vielen verschiedenen Gründen nie umgesetzt wurden. Seine Karriere war eine polemische, seine Vision von Architektur und Design geprägt von politischen Motivationen, weshalb sie von Kollegen und Zeitgenossen als bedrohlich und problematisch angesehen wurde. Vom Bauhaus in Dessau über Moskau, Mexiko City und wieder zurück in die Schweiz scheint es, dass Meyers Leben in Migration ihn immer zur falschen Zeit an den falschen Ort geführt hat. Seine Zeit in Mexiko ist exemplarisch für dieses Dilemma. Von der mexikanischen Regierung eingeladen ein Institut für Architektur und Stadtplanung an der Universität von Mexico City aufzubauen, fiel Meyer schnell der komplizierten politischen Situation in Mexiko in den 1940er Jahren zum Opfer. Dies hinderte ihn daran, in Mexiko oder irgendwo anders in Lateinamerika Bauprojekte auszuführen und seine Reden und Vorträge brachten ihm mehr Feinde als Anhänger ein.

Dennoch trat Meyer, sobald er in Mexiko Fuß gefasst hatte, der TGP – Taller de Gráfica Popular bei, einem Künstlerkollektiv mit Druckwerkstatt, wo er Sympathien für seine Ideale fand. Er wurde der Leiter der TGP, gab Monografien heraus und organisierte Ausstellungen der Künstler des Kollektivs. Hier schien es Meyer zum ersten Mal möglich, seine Ideen umzusetzen, etwas, das ihm mit den Mitteln der Architektur versagt blieb.

Während dieses Workshops werden die Teilnehmer/-innen kollaborativ an der Erfüllung dessen arbeiten, was zuvor unmöglich schien: eines der nicht realisierten Projekte von Hannes Meyer in die Tat umzusetzen. Wir werden die Architekturpläne, Bauzeichnungen und theoretischen Notizen Meyers gemeinsam kritisch analysieren und sie dann in einem anderen Medium und in einer neuen Form wieder zusammensetzen. Wie Hannes Meyer selbst mit seiner TGP werden wir alternative Wege finden, Konzepte in konkrete Formen zu verwandeln. Das Ziel ist, fertig zu werden, egal wie!

Hannes Meyer: finishing unfinished business – 21.8.-26.8. 2017

Preise zzgl. Versandkosten

Buchung:
Summe: 590,00 EUR

Die Einschreibegebühr in Höhe von 160,00 EUR wird mit dem Bestellvorgang fällig. Begleichung des Restbetrags bis zum 15. Juli 2017. Bei Buchung einer Unterkunft enthält die Gesamtsumme MwSt.

Ihr Stipendium wird im nächsten Bestellschritt verrechnet.

Malte Roloff lebt und arbeitet als Ausstellungsmacher, Produzent und Autor in Berlin.
Seine jüngsten Projekte sind die Ausstellungen Chinese Whispers und Julian Röder – Recht und Raum im Haus am Waldsee, Berlin (2016/17). Roloff war Produktionsmanager für die Ausstellungen Simon Denny – Secret Power, den Neuseeländischen Pavillon auf der 56. Venedig Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst 2015 und Simon Denny – Products for Organizing in der Serpentine Gallery London (2015/16). Malte Roloff hat an der Burg Giebichenstein Kunsthochschule in Halle/Saale unterrichtet, wo er auch das Kunstprojekt A Question of Time – Statements for the Archive of the Undead (2014) im und einen Beitrag zum Werkleitz Festival Utopien vermeiden (2013) kuratierte. Er schreibt Ausstellungskritiken und Artikel für Magazine und Kataloge zeitgenössischer Kunst.

Santiago da Silva ist ein mexikanischer Designer. Er entwickelt hauptsächlich Bücher, Publikationen, Druckerzeugnisse aller Art und Kommunikationssysteme in Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler/-innen, Kurator/-innen und Institutionen. Zwischen 2011 und 2015 arbeitete Santiago da Silva im Studio Manuel Raeder, wo er Projekte mit Künstler/-innen wie Mariana Castillo Deball, Dann Vo, Abraham Cruzvillegas und Matt Mullican entwickelte und mit Institutionen wie dem Kunstverein München und dem Artists Space New York zusammenarbeitete. Seit 2015 hat Santiago da Silva sein eigenes Designstudio in Berlin.

www.santiagodasilva.com

Malte Roloff und Santiago da Silva sind Herausgeber der Website Object Notes, eine Rechercheplattform für Handwerk und zeitgenössische Kunst: www.objectnotes.org