Organizers

Berlin Chamber of Crafts

The Berlin Chamber of Crafts acts as a self-governing organization for all owners of craft enterprises in Berlin. Their activities involve setting training standards, providing support to members (180,000 individuals work in craft enterprises in Berlin), and acting as a political lobby for craftsmen and women. The Berlin Chamber of Crafts owns and operates the Bauhaus Federal School Landmark and hosts the International Summer School.

The development of the concept was strongly supported by Renske Janssens toughts and ideas.

The development of the concept and the implementation of the summer school is generously supported by the Stiftung Baudenkmal Bundesschule.

Holger Friese

Holger Friese (*1968, lives and works in Bernau bei Berlin) is a visual artist and graphic designer. In the mid to late nineties, he gained attention with his Internet-based artworks and developed and exhibited his work at documenta X, SFMOMA, and ZKM in Karlsruhe among others. In both his artistic and professional work he is interested in collaborating with other experts to expand ideas further than is possible alone. In addition to his everyday work, he has taught media design and media art at various institutions and has lectured in Germany, Europe, and North America.

Renske Janssen

(*1975, lives in Amsterdam and works internationally) is an art historian who has worked as a curator for institutions including: Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam; Witte de With Center for Contemporary Art, Rotterdam; Kunstverein fur die Rheinlande und Westfalen, Dusseldorf; Artspeak, Vancouver; Museum de Lakenhal, Leiden; and Onomatopee, Eindhoven. She has curated numerous exhibitions and publications with contemporary artists such as Tris Vonna-Michell, Germaine Kruip, Mathias Poledna, as well as many public lecture and discussion programs. Besides teaching and mentoring art students at the Ateliers, KASK, and many other international universities and art schools, she is also a cultural researcher. For her ongoing research project on the shifts between aesthetics and ethics in contemporary art of the 2010s and the inherent relationship between nature and culture, she received a fellowship from the Mondriaan Fund (NL). She is currently writing a book, which is also part of her PhD proposal. Furthermore, she contributes art texts for artists’ catalogues and magazines such as frieze magazine, served as a board member and was the program director for the Summer School in 2016.

Staff & Contact

Gregor Schöning – Head of Educational Institution BIZWA
Holger Friese – Artistic Director – holger [at] summerschool-bernau [dot] de
Aleksandra Stor – Assistant – aleksandra [at] summerschool-bernau [dot] de
Karola Pierenz – Bookkeeping – desk [at] summerschool-bernau [dot] de

Veranstalter

Handwerkskammer Berlin

Die Handwerkskammer Berlin ist eine als Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts organisierte Selbstverwaltungseinrichtung. Der derzeitige Mitgliederbestand beträgt rund 30 000 Betriebe des Handwerks (zulassungspflichtige und zulassungsfreie Handwerke) und des handwerksähnlichen Gewerbes. In der Summe bieten die Mitglieder 180 000 Erwerbstätigen einen Arbeitsplatz und mehr als 14 000 Auszubildenden eine berufliche Perspektive. Die Berliner Handwerkskammer ist Eigentümerin des Bauhaus Denkmals Bundesschule Bernau und Veranstalterin der Sommerschule.

Das Konzept der Sommerschule wurde mit der UnterstĂĽtzung von Renske Janssen entwickelt und zum ersten Mal im Jahr 2016 durchgefĂĽhrt.

Die DurchfĂĽhrung der Sommerschule wird groĂźzĂĽgig unterstĂĽtzt durch die Stiftung Baudenkmal Bundesschule.

Holger Friese

Holger Friese (1968, lebt und arbeitet in Bernau bei Berlin) ist bildender Künstler und Grafikdesigner. Mitte der neunziger Jahre erlangte er Aufmerksamkeit mit seinen internetbasierten Kunstwerken und stellte seine Arbeiten unter anderem auf der documenta X, im SFMOMA und im ZKM in Karlsruhe aus. Sowohl in seiner künstlerischen als auch professionellen Arbeit als Grafiker sucht er häufig im Austausch mit anderen Expert/-innen die bestmögliche Umsetzung einer Ideenskizze. Neben seiner täglichen Arbeit unterrichtete er Mediendesign und Medienkunst an verschiedenen Akademien und Hochschulen und wurde zu Vorträgen und Präsentationen in Deutschland, Europa und Nordamerika eingeladen. Holger Friese ist künstlerischer Leiter der Sommerschule Bernau.

Renske Janssen

Renske Janssen (1975, lebt in Amsterdam) ist Kunsthistorikerin und hat als Kuratorin für unterschiedliche Institutionen wie das Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam, das Witte de With Center for Contemporary Art in Rotterdam, den Kunstverein für die Rheinlande und Westfalen in Düsseldorf, Artspeak in Vancouver, das Museum de Lakenhal in Leiden und Onomatopee in Eindhoven gearbeitet. Sie hat zahlreiche Ausstellungen und Publikationen mit zeitgenössischen Künstler/-innen wie Tris Vonna-Michell, Germaine Kruip, Mathias Poledna kuratiert und viele öffentliche Vortrags- und Diskussionsprogramme geleitet. Neben der Lehre und dem Kunststudierenden-Mentoring bei de Ateliers, KASK und weiteren internationalen Universitäten und Kunsthochschulen ist sie auch Kulturforscherin. Für ihr laufendes Forschungsprojekt zu den Verschiebungen zwischen Ästhetik und Ethik in der zeitgenössischen Kunst in den 2010er Jahren und der inhärenten Beziehung zwischen Natur und Kultur erhielt sie ein Stipendium des Mondriaan Fund (NL). Sie schreibt derzeit an einem Buch zu diesem Thema, das auch Teil ihrer Doktorarbeit sein wird. Darüber hinaus schreibt sie für Künstlerkataloge und Zeitschriften wie das frieze magazine; im Jahr 2016 war sie Programmleiterin der Sommerschule im Bauhaus Denkmal Bundesschule Bernau.

Team & Kontakt

Gregor Schöning – Leiter der Bildungseinrichtung BIZWA
Holger Friese – künstlerischer Leiter – holger [at] summerschool-bernau [dot] de
Aleksandra Stor – Assistenz – aleksandra [at] summerschool-bernau [dot] de
Karola Pierenz – Buchhaltung – desk [at] summerschool-bernau [dot] de