July 23 – 28, 2017

Home-less

Isabella Pasqualini & CĂ©line Dupuis

Das Nomadenleben impliziert die kurzzeitige gemeinsame Nutzung eines Zuhauses mit sich selbst. Welche GefĂŒhle stellen sich zu solchen RĂ€umen ein? Ist es möglich, eine architektonische IdentitĂ€t ĂŒber den Besitz hinaus zu erleben? Und können wir mit neuen Technologien virtuelle Welten entwerfen, die Emotionen wie „zu einem Ort zugehörig zu sein“ auslösen anstatt „dieser Ort gehört mir“.

Hannes Meyers’ Co-op-Interieur war mehr als ein Wohnraum, es war ein konzeptuelles Schaubild des Nomadischen. In ihm war man vor allem in einer kontemplativen Wirkung von PrivatsphĂ€re und IntimitĂ€t aufgehoben. Aus diesem Blickwinkel heraus werden wir im Kurs home-less die QualitĂ€ten der WohnrĂ€ume in der Bauhaus Bundesschule untersuchen. Wir werden diesen Raum in eine immersive virtuelle Architektur verwandeln, die nicht nur die Interaktion mit der physischen Umgebung und anderen Bewohnern ermöglicht, sondern die Erfahrung des Raumes ĂŒber die physisch erfahrbaren Eigenschaften hinaus erweitert.

In einem einzigartigen Doppel-Modul bieten die Architektin, VR KĂŒnstlerin und Wissenschaftlerin Isabella Pasqualini sowie die VR Developerin CĂ©line Dupuis ein Design- und Coding-Seminar fĂŒr immersive virtuelle RealitĂ€t in Unity an. Dieser Kurs wendet sich an KĂŒnstler/-innen, Designer/-innen, Kurator/-innen sowie an Programmierer/-innen und andere Entwickler/-innen. Das Resultat wird eine interaktive, vernetzte virtuelle Architektur sein.

Entwickelt fĂŒr: KĂŒnstler/-innen, Designer/-innen, Kurator/-innen und jede/jeden mit
fortgeschrittener Erfahrung in 3D, Animation oder Videoschnitt (Modul 1)

Ingenieure und Kreative mit Programmierkenntnissen in C#, C++, Python, Javascript oder Processing (Modul 2)

Kurssprachen: Englisch, Französisch, Deutsch

Bitte mitbringen: Laptop

Isabella Pasqualini ist Architektin (ETHZ 2000) und Forscherin. In ihren Arbeiten befasst sie sich mit der gegenseitigen und intimen Beziehung zwischen Körper und Raum in immersiven und interaktiven Multimedia, mit besonderem Interesse in der multisensorischen Erweiterung des Horizonts. Isabella hat in Architektur und kognitiver Neurowissenschaft zum Begriff der Verkörperung promoviert (EPFL 2012) und ihre Forschungsprojekte in der wissenschaftlichen Fachpresse publiziert. FĂŒr das Post-Doc Projekt “Visual Touches – Touching Views” am Center of Neuroprosthetics (EPFL) hat sie 2013 den Fellowship Grant der Cogito Stiftung erhalten. Momentan ist sie Gastforscherin am Center of Neuroprosthetics (EPFL) in Genf und Gastprofessorin an der École Nationale SupĂ©rieure d’Architecture de Versailles. Isabella hat eine neue Stadt in Angola geplant, sowie ein temporĂ€res BankgebĂ€ude in Luanda gebaut. Sie hat verschiedene internationale Wettbewerbspreise gewonnen und ihre Arbeiten wurden in der Schweiz und im Ausland prĂ€sentiert (Venedig Biennale, Stadt Rom, Stadt Helsinki, EPFL sĂŒd, Beijing Design Week, Beijing Triennale, Shanghai Art, Science & Technology Exhibition, SAST Award, Swiss Art Awards, EAC ‘Les Halles’, Werkschau Architektur 2015). Sie war Gastprofessorin an der Kunstakademie der Tsinghua UniversitĂ€t in Beijing, Gastdozentin an der ZĂŒrcher Hochschule der KĂŒnste, an der UniversitĂ  IUAV in Venedig, und Dozentin an der School of Engineering and Architecture der EPFL in Zusammenarbeit mit den Digital Humanities (EPFL) und der Stadt Venedig.

CĂ©line Dupuis ist eine Digital Media Ingenieurin, die an die Fusion von Kunst und Wissenschaft glaubt. Nach einem ersten Studium an der EPFL studierte sie Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie an der UCL London und der KTH Stockholm und schloß mit einem doppelten Master ab. In der Vergangenheit lehrte sie Kurse und Workshops zu mobilen Anwendungen, Roboterprogrammierung und immersiven Umgebungsentwicklungen. Sie beantwortet gerne praktische BedĂŒrfnisse mit digitalen Mitteln und arbeitet derzeit mit Virtual Reality an der Rehabilitation von HirnschĂ€den. Informieren Sie sich ĂŒber ihre verschiedenen Projekte auf http://celinedupuis.tech

July 23 – 28, 2018

home-less

Isabella Pasqualini & Céline Dupuis

A nomadic life implies the common use and the temporary sharing of a home. What are the feelings that determine the quality of the relationships with such spaces? Is it possible to sense architectonic identity beyond ownership? And, can we, through new technology, design virtual environments that trigger emotions like “belonging to a place” more than places that belong to us?

Hannes Meyer’s Co-op Interieur was conceived as a display of nomadic life rather than a room. It pointed to the contemplative aspects of privacy and intimacy. From this point of view, through the project home-less, we will investigate the qualities of the individual rooms at the Bauhaus Bundesschule. We will build them into an immersive virtual environment that not only supports interaction with space and other inhabitants but also augments the experience of the place beyond its physical features.

In a unique double module, the architect, VR artist and scientist Isabella Pasqualini and the VR developer Céline Dupuis offer a combined design and coding seminar for immersive virtual reality in Unity. This class is addressed to artists, designers, curators etc., or, to programmers, developers and creatives with coding experience. The result will be an interactive, connected virtual architecture.

Best suited for Module 1: Designers, Artists, Architects, Curators etc. advanced in 3D modeling, animation or video editing

Best suited for Module 2: Engineers and Creatives with experience in programming (C#, C++, Python, Javascript, or Processing)

Course languages: English, French, German

What to bring: Laptop

Isabella Pasqualini & Céline Dupuis – Home-less – July 23 – 28, 2018

(incl. 0,00% sales tax and plus Shipping)

Booking:
Application for:
Sum: 590,00 EUR

Your grant / reduction will be subtracted on the next page.

The total amount includes german VAT if you book accommodations.

Isabella Pasqualini is an architect (ETHZ 2000) and scientist. Through her works, she explores the mutual and intimate relationship between body and space using immersive and interactive multimedia, with a particular interest in the multisensory enhancement of the user’s horizon. Isabella has a Ph.D. in architecture and cognitive neuroscience (EPFL 2012). For her post-doc project “Visual Touches – Touching Views” at the Center of Neuroprosthetics (EPFL) she obtained the fellowship grant from the cogito foundation (2013). Currently a scientist at the Center of Neuroprosthetics (EPFL) and a visiting professor at the École Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture de Versailles, she is planning a mixed reality installation with a performance artist and a scientist in Artificial Intelligence for the Mapping festival in Geneva in May 2018. Isabella has planned a new City in Angola and built a temporary bank building in Luanda. She has won several international competition prizes and exhibited her work at Swiss and international art venues (Venice Biennale, City of Rome, City of Helsinki, EPFL south, Beijing Design Week, Beijing Triennale, Shanghai Art, Science & Technology Exhibition, SAST Award, Swiss Art Awards, EAC ‘Les Halles’, Werkschau Architektur 2015). She has been a visiting Professor at the Industrial Design Department of Zürich University of the Arts (ZHdK), at the Art and Design Academy of Tsinghua University in Beijing, at IUAV University in Venice, at the International Summer School of the Bauhaus Denkmal in Bernau, as well as a lecturer in the School of Engineering and Architecture at EPFL in cooperation with the Digital Humanities (EPFL) and the City of Venice.

Céline Dupuis is a Digital Media Engineer who believes in the fusion of Art and Science. She holds a double Master of Information and Communications Technology from UCL London and KTH Stockholm, and she previously graduated from EPFL in Switzerland. In the past, she taught courses and workshops on a mobile application, robots programming, and immersive environments. She likes to answer practical needs through digital means and is currently working with Virtual Reality for the rehabilitation of brain damage. More info: http://celinedupuis.tech