16.–21. Juli 2018

Skin and Surface – Biomimetic Design und Bauhaus

Petra Gruber

„Biomimetics is the abstraction of good design from nature“ (Center of Biomimetics, UK)

Die Bionik ist ein strategischer Ansatz, Lösungen aus der Natur in einen technischen oder künstlerischen Kontext zu übertragen, und dabei Erkenntnisse aus Wissenschaft und Forschung in Technik und Kunst neu zu interpretieren. Es geht dabei nicht nur um Form und Ästhetik, sondern vor allem um funktionelle Zusammenhänge, die zu Innovation führen sollen. Funktionelle Analogien sind die Basis der Übertragung, die in beide Richtungen stattfinden kann: von der Lösung zur Anwendung oder vom Problem zur Lösung.
Die Verbindung zu traditionellen Handwerkstechniken ist dabei genauso von Interesse wie die Erforschung der Potenziale neuer Design- und Produktionstechnologien, die neue Formensprachen hervorbringen. Strategien wie Biomimicry integrieren Konzepte zum ökologischen und nachhaltigen Design. Interdisziplinarität und die Zusammenarbeit von Einrichtungen der Grundlagenforschung und der Produktion sind die Grundlage von Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten, die über das Design von Prototypen letztendlich zur Markteinführung von neuen Produkten führen sollen.

Im Kurs Skin and Surface – Biomimetic Design und Bauhaus wird mit der Innovationsmethode der Bionik im Kontext der Bauhaus-Tradition experimentiert. In einem Prozess der künstlerischen Forschung wird basierend auf ausgewählten Forschungsergebnissen aus der Biologie eine neue Formensprache für bestimmte Materialien und Strukturen entwickelt. Der Fokus des Workshops liegt auf „Skin and Surface“. Das heißt, die Grenzflächen zwischen dem Innen und Außen von Organismen einerseits und gebauten Strukturen andererseits sollen erforscht werden, um sinnvolle Analogien herzustellen, die zu neuen Lösungen führen.

Ziel des Kurses ist die experimentelle Entwicklung von Modellen und Prototypen mit traditionellen und neuen Produktionsmitteln.

Entwickelt fĂĽr: Architekt/-innen, Designer/-innen, KĂĽnstler/-innen, Biolog/-innen, Modellbauer/-innen, Gestalter/-innen im Handwerk

Sprachen: Englisch, Deutsch

Bitte mitbringen: Laptop, Zeichenmaterial, Häute, persönliches Modellbaumaterial

Dr. Petra Gruber ist Architektin mit einem starken Interesse an inter- und transdisziplinärem Design.
Neben ihrer professionellen Erfahrung als Architektin hat sie in Architekturbionik an der Technischen Universität Wien promoviert und war als Forscherin am Centre for Biomimetics an der Universität of Reading, UK, tätig. Sie hat Bionik in Energiesystemen an der Fachhochschule Kärnten in Villach, Österreich, unterrichtet und hält weltweit Vorlesungen und Workshops. Als Gastprofessoring für Architektur und Gebäudetechnik hat sie ein Master Programm in Advanced Architectural Design an der Addis Ababa University in Äthiopien etabliert. Ihre Forschung reicht von Projekten für die Europäische Weltraumorganisation ESA, z. B. eine von Faltprinzipien aus der Natur informierte Mondbasis, bis hin zu künstlerischer Forschung über die Übersetzung von Wachstumsprinzipien aus der Natur in proto-architektonische räumliche Lösungen. Dr. Gruber hält derzeit eine Professur an der Myers School of Art und dem Department of Biology für das Biomimicry Research and Innovation Center BRIC der University of Akron in den USA.

July 16 – 21, 2018

Skin and Surface – Biomimetic Design und Bauhaus

Petra Gruber

“Biomimetics is the abstraction of good design from nature” (Center of Biomimetics, UK)

Biomimetics is a strategic approach to translate solutions from nature into a technical or artistic context and by these reinterpreting scientific findings in technology and the arts. This is not only about form and aesthetics but primarily about functional connections that should lead to innovation. Functional analogies are the base for the translations in both directions, from solution to application or from problem to solution.
The connection to traditional techniques in craftsmanship are as interesting as the investigation of the potentials of novel design- and production technologies, that create a new formal language. Strategies like biomimicry integrate concepts for sustainable and ecological design. Interdisciplinarity and cooperation from institutions of basic scientific research to production is the base for research and development projects, that shall go beyond the design of prototypes to the introduction of novel products on the market.

The course Skin and Surface – Biomimetic Design and Bauhaus experiments with the innovation method biomimetics in the context of the Bauhaus tradition. In a process of artistic research and based on selected research results from biology a new formal language for specific material and structures is developed.
The theme of the workshop is “Skin and Surface”. Intersections between the inside and the outside of biological organisms on one hand, and built structures, on the other hand, shall be investigated to create sensible analogies that lead to innovative solutions.
The aim of the workshop is the experimental development of models and prototypes with traditional and novel means of production.

Best suited for: Architects, Designers, Artists, Biologists, Modelmakers, Craftspeople

Course languages: English / German

What to bring: Laptop, Drawing materials, Skins, all sorts of modelmaking materials that you would like to work with

Petra Gruber – Skin and Surface – July 16 – 21, 2018

(incl. 0,00% sales tax and plus Shipping)

Booking:
Sum: 590,00 EUR

Your grant / reduction will be subtracted on the next page.

The total amount includes german VAT if you book accommodations.

Dr. Petra Gruber is an architect with a strong interest in inter- and transdisciplinary design.
Apart from her professional work as an architect she holds a PhD in Biomimetics in Architecture from the Vienna University of Technology in Austria and collaborated as a research fellow at the Centre for Biomimetics at The University of Reading, UK. She taught Biomimetics in Energy Systems at the University of Applied Sciences in Villach, Austria and held lectures and workshops at universities worldwide. As a visiting professor for Architectural Design and Building Science she set up a master program in Advanced Architectural Design at the Addis Ababa University in Ethiopia. Her research spans from projects for the European Space Agency on lunar base design informed by folding principles from nature to arts-based research on the translation of growth principles from nature into proto-architectural spatial solutions. Dr. Gruber is based at the Myers School of Arts and the Department of Biology for the Biomimicry Research and Innovation Center BRIC.